Program Managers at IARPA

IARPA Program Managers (PMs) bring both imagination and proven technical expertise to address the challenges facing the Intelligence Community (IC). The work of IARPA Program Managers has direct impact on the IC's future capabilities and, more broadly, on the field of science.

You Could Be Our Next Program Manager

If you have a creative idea that could provide the nation with a significant intelligence advantage, apply to join the IARPA team as a Program Manager.

Find out how

The PM Role

IARPA Program Managers develop new concepts to address an IC problem, then manage the research from start to finish. They chart the course for their program, which includes:

  • identifying goals and objectives
  • developing rigorous test and evaluation criteria
  • specifying short- and long-term milestones to gauge the health of the program
  • managing all technical, procurement, and financial aspects of the program

IARPA Program Managers

IARPA PMs work closely with the research teams in the development of new breakthrough technologies.

IARPA PMs serve for limited terms (3-5 years is the length of a typical IARPA program), which ensures a constant infusion of fresh thinking and new perspectives.

Program ManagerProgram(s)Research AreasContact Info
Dr. Jeff Alstott DIVA S&T forecasting, artificial intelligence, neuroscience, biology, cognitive science, complex systems, networks, statistics  jeff.alstott@iarpa.gov
301-851-7455
Dr. John Beieler BETTER Human language technology, natural language processing, information extraction, information retrieval, active learning, multilingual processing john.beieler@iarpa.gov
301-851-7441
Dr. Brad Blakestad LogiQ Quantum computing, quantum information science, sensing, atomic physics brad.blakestad@iarpa.gov
301-851-7514
Dr. Torreon Creekmore HFGeo Radiative transfer modeling, vicarious calibration, observational analysis, atmospheric correction, aerosol/cloud retrieval, remote sensing, automation, autonomy, and climate change and land use torreon.creekmore@iarpa.gov
301-851-7546
Dr. Kristy DeWitt

Ithildin, MAEGLIN, SILMARILS

Chemical detection and identification (including standoff, remote, and ultra-compact/low power approaches), spectroscopy/spectrometry/chromatography, optical sensors, novel laser designs, frequency combs, nonlinear optics, fiber optic sensors/lasers/devices

kristin.dewitt@iarpa.gov
301-851-7720
Dr. Merrick DeWitt

Amon-Hen

Space situational awareness, optical interferometry, fiber optics, image reconstruction, computational imaging, small aperture telescopes, adaptive optics, astrometry, astronomy, optical sensors, optics, optical design merrick.dewitt@iarpa.gov
301-851-7523
Dr. Amanda Dion-Schultz

FELIX

Synthetic biology, biochemistry, bioinformatics, and biological defense

amanda.dion-schultz@iarpa.gov
301-851-7485

Dr. Lars Ericson Odin, Janus biometrics, face recognition, fingerprint collection and matching, computer vision, electro-optical sensors, chem/bio sensors, nanotechnology, advanced materials, carbon nanotubes lars.ericson@iarpa.gov
301-851-7748
Dr. Seth Goldstein HFC Forecasting (especially techniques involving crowdsourcing, innovative combinations/interactions of human and machine models/forecasts/forecasters/ data, or for rare events), human judgment and individual/group decision-making, cognitive/social psychology, machine learning, human subjects research, analytic tradecraft, experimental design, quantitative and qualitative methodologies in social science. seth.goldstein@iarpa.gov
301-851-7734
Mr. Bill Harrod RAVEN   bill.harrod@iarpa.gov

301-851-7457

Dr. Mark Heiligman HECTOR, SuperTools Mathematics (algebra, number theory and algebraic geometry), cryptology, quantum information science (theoretical and experimental), computer science-theory of algorithms, symbolic computation, complexity theory, machine learning, computer-human interfaces, scientometrics, geology mark.heiligman@iarpa.gov
301-851-7432
Dr. Alexis Jeannotte

MOSAIC, SHARP

Human cognition and intelligence, mobile sensing, wearable devices, social psychology and neuroscience, deception, trust, motivation, creativity, human performance, second language learning, cross-cultural training, identity alexis.jeannotte@iarpa.gov
301-851-7517
Dr. Kristen Jordan

Mercury, Proteos

Biomarkers of exposure, chemical/biological warfare, Ebola, emerging biotechnologies, weapons of mass destruction, SIGINT analytics, event forecasting

kristen.jordan@iarpa.gov
301-851-7726
Dr. John Julias Fun GCAT Synthetic biology, bioinformatics, computational modelling of biological interactions, systems biology, host pathogen interactions, pathogen evolution, weapons of mass destruction john.julias@iarpa.gov
301-851-7486
Dr. Hakjae Kim CORE3D large-scale 3D modeling, remote sensing and information fusion, machine learning, quantitative analysis, statistical inference, tactical systems for military intelligence, novel navigation concepts, micro unmanned vehicles hakjae.kim@iarpa.gov
301-851-7501 
Dr. Paul Lehner FOCUS, SCITE Engineering enterprises that detect low probability events with low accuracy sensors, innovative research methods to evaluate analytic and forecasting tradecraft, innovative statistical methods to estimate performance of systems addressing complex analysis and forecasting problems, scientific research on organizational lessons-learned methods, evidence-based forecasting methods, inductive logic, probabilistic reasoning and its application to analytic tradecraft paul.lehner@iarpa.gov
301-851-7449
Mr. Kerry Long VirtUE Cloud security, evolving security using the technologies of the Cloud, hypervisor security and instrumentation, novel operating system monitoring techniques, malicious cyber behavior detection analytics, edge computing kerry.long@iarpa.gov
301-851-7512
Dr. Marc Manheimer C3, SuperCables Superconducting computing technology, low-energy computing technology, cryogenic phenomena, cryogenic devices, cryogenic systems marc.manheimer@iarpa.gov
301-851-7471
Dr. David Markowitz MICrONS, MIST Computational neuroscience, machine learning, high-performance computing, robotics

david.markowitz@iarpa.gov
301-851-7497

Dr. Carl McCants TIC, Semiconductor test, defect analysis, failure analysis, imaging, microscopy, logic analysis, circuit analysis, fault isolation, circuit edit, sample preparation, microelectronics, nondestructive analysis, nanoscale imaging, hardware assurance carl.mccants@iarpa.gov
301-851-7738
Dr. Chris Pope   Biophysics, chemistry, materials science, sensor development, counter weapons of mass destruction; chemical, biological, radiological, nuclear, and explosives detection christopher.pope@iarpa.gov
301-851-7434
Mr. Robert Rahmer CAUSE, FUSE Cybersecurity, cyber-event forecasting, cyber-actor behavior and cultural understanding, threat intelligence, threat modeling, cyber-event coding, cyber-kinetic event detection robert.rahmer@iarpa.gov
301-851-7499
Dr. Steven Rieber CREATE Forecasting, logic and critical thinking, human judgment steven.rieber@iarpa.gov
301-851-7521
Dr. Carl Rubino

MATERIAL

linguistics, typology, machine translation, human language technology for low resource languages

carl.rubino@iarpa.gov
301-851-7563

Dr. Jeff Weinschenk   Underwater/maritime applications involving unmanned vehicles, payloads and infrastructure; associated technology enablers in autonomy, energy, communications, navigation, sensing, robotics and mobility; novel concepts for access and collection jeffrey.weinschenk@iarpa.gov
301-851-7492
Mr. Sam Wilson LHO Propulsion/power system installation & optimization for aerospace and power systems; applications involving unmanned vehicles; associated technology enablers in autonomy, energy harvesting, energy utilization/conservation, communications, navigation, sensing, robotics and mobility; novel concepts for access and collection samuel.wilson@iarpa.gov
301-851-7729
Mr. Stephen Winchell

Presidential Innovation Fellow

  Novel concepts for access and collection in underwater/maritime applications involving unmanned vehicles, payloads and infrastructure. Applications of machine learning, probabilistic reasoning, and statistics to sensor data. Cybersecurity, cyber-physical systems, digital signal processing, and biometrics. stephen.winchell@iarpa.gov
301-851-7468