Our Program Managers

Program Managers at IARPA

IARPA Program Managers (PMs) bring both imagination and proven technical expertise to address the challenges facing the Intelligence Community (IC). The work of IARPA Program Managers has direct impact on the IC's future capabilities and, more broadly, on the field of science.

You Could Be Our Next Program Manager

If you have a creative idea that could provide the nation with a significant intelligence advantage, apply to join the IARPA team as a Program Manager.

Find out how

The PM Role

IARPA Program Managers develop new concepts to address an IC problem, then manage the research from start to finish. They chart the course for their program, which includes:

  • identifying goals and objectives
  • developing rigorous test and evaluation criteria
  • specifying short- and long-term milestones to gauge the health of the program
  • managing all technical, procurement, and financial aspects of the program

IARPA Program Managers

IARPA PMs work closely with the research teams in the development of new breakthrough technologies.

IARPA PMs serve for limited terms (3-5 years is the length of a typical IARPA program), which ensures a constant infusion of fresh thinking and new perspectives.

Program ManagerProgram(s)Research AreasContact Info
Dr. Jeff Alstott FOCUS, DIVA, TrojAI S&T forecasting, artificial intelligence, neuroscience, biology, cognitive science, complex systems, networks, statistics  jeff.alstott@iarpa.gov
301-243-2086
Dr. Dawson Cagle RESILIENCE Materials chemistry, energy storage (batteries), electrochemistry, renewable liquid fuels dawson.cagle@iarpa.gov
301-243-2083
Jack Cooper HFGeo, SMART Radiative transfer modeling, vicarious calibration, observational analysis, atmospheric correction, aerosol/cloud retrieval, remote sensing, automation, autonomy, and climate change and land use jack.cooper@iarpa.gov
301-243-2033
Dr. Merrick DeWitt

Amon-Hen

Space situational awareness, optical interferometry, fiber optics, image reconstruction, computational imaging, small aperture telescopes, adaptive optics, astrometry, astronomy, optical sensors, optics, optical design merrick.dewitt@iarpa.gov
301-243-2085
Dr. Lars Ericson BRIAR, Janus, Odin biometrics, face recognition, fingerprint collection and matching, computer vision, electro-optical sensors, chem/bio sensors, nanotechnology, advanced materials, carbon nanotubes lars.ericson@iarpa.gov
301-243-1817
Dr. Bill Harrod

C3RAVEN, SuperCables

  bill.harrod@iarpa.gov
301-243-1814
Dr. Mark Heiligman HECTOR, SuperTools Mathematics (algebra, number theory and algebraic geometry), cryptology, quantum information science (theoretical and experimental), computer science-theory of algorithms, symbolic computation, complexity theory, machine learning, computer-human interfaces, scientometrics, geology mark.heiligman@iarpa.gov
301-243-1816
Dr. Kristen Jordan

Proteos

Ithildin

MAEGLIN

SILMARILS

Forensics, biosurveillance, diagnostics, SIGINT data analytics, technologies to defeat weapons of mass destruction, toxicology, forensic chemistry kristen.jordan@iarpa.gov
301-243-1812
Dr. Paul Kolb Fun GCAT, SCISRS Antenna design, electromagnetic simultations of complex structures, optical imaging paul.kolb@iarpa.gov
301-243-2082
Dr. David Markowitz FELIX, MICrONS, MIST Computational neuroscience, machine learning, high-performance computing, robotics

david.markowitz@iarpa.gov
301-243-1808

Mr. Robert Rahmer CORE3D, VirtUE Cybersecurity, cyber-event forecasting, cyber-actor behavior and cultural understanding, threat intelligence, threat modeling, cyber-event coding, cyber-kinetic event detection robert.rahmer@iarpa.gov
301-243-2088
Dr. Steven Rieber MOSAIC Forecasting, logic and critical thinking, human judgment steven.rieber@iarpa.gov
301-243-2087
Dr. Carl Rubino

BETTER, MATERIAL

linguistics, typology, machine translation, human language technology for low resource languages

carl.rubino@iarpa.gov
301-243-2081

Dr. Jeff Weinschenk   Underwater/maritime applications involving unmanned vehicles, payloads and infrastructure; associated technology enablers in autonomy, energy, communications, navigation, sensing, robotics and mobility; novel concepts for access and collection jeffrey.weinschenk@iarpa.gov
Mr. Sam Wilson LHO Propulsion/power system installation & optimization for aerospace and power systems; applications involving unmanned vehicles; associated technology enablers in autonomy, energy harvesting, energy utilization/conservation, communications, navigation, sensing, robotics and mobility; novel concepts for access and collection samuel.wilson@iarpa.gov
301-243-2030